Lila had her follow-up MRI today at Children’s. It already feels like another lifetime since she was there, and yet, it felt “normal” to be driving in today.

I have to admit, I was a bit apprehensive about today’s excursion. Lila has thrown fits 2 out of the 3 times we’ve brought her out, and I was a bit nervous about being away from the house for so long, and without Jon to help rescue me. I was pleasantly surprised when Lila fell asleep on the ride into the city, and pretty much slept through the whole appointment, awaking only to nurse, and during part of the MRI (so I hear–I didn’t go into the room with her; we usually wait outside, as no one can leave once the test starts, and I trust her doctors, as they’ve always taken great care of her).

My little baby burrito, all swaddled and ready for her MRI. Like her earplugs??

My little baby burrito, all swaddled and ready for her MRI. Like her earplugs??

She slept the whole ride home also, just starting to wake up once we were back near home. She didn’t even cry when she woke up, just kind of looked at me from her car seat, like, “hey, mom? food, now, please?”. AND she went three hours between feedings today! That could have been due to all of the excitement, as I’m pushing her now to hold off until 9pm for her next one, and she is chomping on her bink (Avent 0-3mos, for you moms; she likes these better than the hospital soothies) something fierce.

(Update: waiting till 9? Not happening. Dad is changing her, and then it’s time to eat! Baby Meltdown has commenced.)

Lila’s pedi also called me tonight with the results of the MRI–as we hoped, things look good. The one spot that showed a small amount of blood in her brain is still there (this was news to us, but apparently it has shown on all the MRIs so far), but the neurologists are not worried, as she seems to be developing as she should.

Her pedi and I also chatted about how things are going at home so far. I told him about her snacking, and how she does better at night than during the day with this. I mentioned possibly looking into introducing formula at some point soon as well. It’s not something we’re looking to do very soon, but something we have been talking about, if only to help keep her full for longer periods of time (formula takes longer to digest), and also to see if she even prefers the taste of it. I would still keep nursing, we would just be adding the formula into the mix. Again, not something we’d try tomorrow, but something we’re considering.

When we got home this afternoon, Lila had a great time lying on this awesome blanket her Aunt Erin made her (I LOVE this blanket, E), and she hung out there for almost an hour and a half, before falling asleep for a little bit. She was too cute, and it was so fun to hang out with her when she was awake, and not screaming to be fed. I was able to snap a couple more pics with the big camera too, and will post some as soon as I have a chance to edit. In the meantime, iphone pics to the rescue!

Peek-a-boo!

Peek-a-boo!

Hanging out on her blanket, playing with her toys

Hanging out on her blanket, playing with her toys

Tuckered out from playing--how CUTE is she?!

Tuckered out from playing--how CUTE is she?!

(Catherine–I know you can’t see it, but this is the outfit you got her! She wore it for her appt today, even the sweater. We love it!)

This parenting thing is SUCH a rollercoaster, and I’m so happy today was an “up” day…yesterday was much harder. I’m looking forward to the day that I am more comfortable with all of it, I know that day will come…eventually.

