Oops! Another week went by, and I didn’t update! I HAVE to work out a system for posting mini-updates more regularly. I will, promise.

We had a busy week last week, full of playdates with friends, which was wonderful. I think we are starting to settle into our new lives together, and it feels great.

I’ll get to Lila’s pediatrician appointment from Friday (complete with shots!) in a moment, but first, photos from a playdate with my sister, Caitlin, her daughter Grace, and our friend Erin, and her son Jacob. Gace & Jacob are only a month apart (8 and 9 months respectively), so it was hilarious to watch them interact. Lila, shockingly, slept in her car seat while these two were playing (we drove into Boston to go to Cait’s place, the car always makes her sleep, thank god), so I didn’t take any shots of her.

My little buddy, Jacob, he's such a ham in front of the camera

My little buddy, Jacob, he's such a ham in front of the camera

The look she always gives me when I break out the camera

The look she always gives me when I break out the camera

Trying to steal each other's toys, as usual, haha

Trying to steal each other's toys, as usual, haha

We also saw my other friend Kaitlin, and her son Jacob (confusing, I know!), he was born 2 days after Lila. We didn’t take any pics that day, but we definitely will have to next time! Jake was a good boy, and slept most of the time–I was so jealous that Kait could put him down and make lunch for herself! I hope Lila was taking notes.

Friday was Lila’s pedi appointment. She was also 7 weeks on Friday, time is flying! She’s been home almost a month now, I can’t believe it. Her appointment consisted mostly of the usual: length and weight checks, well baby checkup; we also started our immunization schedule…ugh.

Lila’s measurements are right on track, she’s still gaining weight, so we were super happy to see that. We also decided to start her on reflux medicine, in hopes that will help lessen her spitting up (which I feel, if anything, has only gotten worse since we’ve been home, not better). She’s on prilosec now, and has been since Friday night. We think she’s doing a lot better, there has not been much spitup since then. She also seems less uncomfortable after eating, less squirming and fussing. So hopefully we are on the right track!

And yes…shots. I was only semi-dreading this, as we are pretty used to seeing doctors and nurses stick Lila with needles, after everything at Children’s. I must say, I wish I’d been more prepared. Her first “shot” was an oral vaccine, for rotovirus. She hated it, but less then the initial prilosec prescription (unflavored…we remedied that quickly)…and was doing well with getting it down, until she choked on it. The nurse had been giving her a little at a time, to ensure she was swallowing it, and she either refluxed, or breathed in one of the “squirts”, and started choking. This SUCKED, as, once again, I was holding her, and she wasn’t breathing. They say bad things always happen in threes, and this is the 3rd time I’ve held her when she’s stopped breathing, so I HOPE this is the last time. It took us about 10 minutes to get her to calm down again, and stop wheezing and gagging on the vaccine, until we could finish. NOT FUN. The other vaccine was the only injection that day, and for a HepB booster. I thought she’d tolerate this fairly well, as she was stuck many, many times while in the NICU…and I was once again proven completely, totally, utterly wrong. She was SO angry. She screamed one of those long, drawn out, “watch me hold my breath and scream a heartbreaking silent scream, while my face turns purple” screams. Thankfully, I was able to calm her fairly quickly from this one. We won’t see the pedi again for a month (we are seeing him at 2, 3, and 4 months, to get up to date on the vaccine schedule, and to make sure things are progressing with us as they should).

This weekend Lila’s Aunt Sarah came over on Saturday, which was fun. Lila, of course, was an angel while she was here, and slept most of the time. I think I need to just schedule a constant stream of visitors to the house, or playdates out, because she is ALWAYS better behaved when other people are around. I think everyone who sees us must think I’m nuts for saying she fusses a lot, haha.

As most of you know (well, anyone from MA), today was Marathon Monday. Dad took the day off, and we walked up to the marathon to cheer the runners on. I love that we live essentially on the marathon route, it’s always a fun day to be close to all the activity. It was pretty cold today, especially for mid-April, only in the 40s, so we weren’t planning on going for long. However, Miss Lila didn’t want to go at ALL, so we only lasted about 5 minutes up there before she wanted to come back and eat. She hadn’t eaten well before we left, so I suspected something like this might happen. So we just turned back and headed home, and watched the rest on tv. There’s always next year!

A couple of pics from today:

Our little thug, how cute is she?

Our little thug, how cute is she?

Messing around with dad

Messing around with dad

I love this shot of the 2 of them, so cute.

(FYI, we did NOT take her out of the house like this. Dad was just experimenting to see if she’d like the Bjorn better facing out, b/c she’s always fussing if we take her out in it facing inward, the correct way. And, of course, she does! However, she will NOT be leaving the house, or staying in the Bjorn this way, until she can hold up her own head.)

And now we’re onto Week 5 at home! I can’t believe Lila will be 8 weeks old on Friday. Wednesday the nurse is coming to put the Holter monitor on Lila, so I want to keep her semi-calm for those 24 hours. And Friday is the renal ultrasound at Children’s. I’m sure we’ll see my sister and Erin at some point, I can’t go too long without them!

