Her neurologist uttered these words to me yesterday, during Lila’s appointment, after checking her out and asking me a few questions. He said (picture a blond-haired, blue-eyed guy with a British accent) “she looks great, and she’s doing really well, if not a little ahead of herself”.

I’d be lying to you all if I said that I never thought I’d hear those words from one of Lila’s doctors. I have big hopes for this little girl, and she’s proven her strength to me on more than one occasion.

So, obviously, our appointment went really well. We will be seeing him again in 6 months, and will have another MRI done just before then, to verify all looks good.

We made a quick stop at the NICU on our way out to say hi to anyone who was around, which was fun. A few of Lila’s nurses were there, and it was great to “show her off” to them, so they can see how awesome she’s doing, and how she’s growing. They all agree that she is a looong baby (she’s 24″ already!). My favorite part about visiting them is that the receptionist announces that “Lila Moore is here for a visit”, and then whoever is around comes out to say hi (for obvious reasons, we can’t go into the NICU itself). She gave them a few smiles before starting to screech (feeding time!), so we headed out for a quick bottle before hitting the road. I was doing everything I could at this point to avoid sitting in rush hour traffic with her, as you all know that she HATES when she’s in her car seat and the car isn’t moving.

We still ended up leaving the hospital around 6pm, so I knew we were in for an interesting ride home…and I wasn’t disappointed. Lila screamed (and I do mean SCREAMED, ask Nana, I called her during this) most of the way home. These weren’t just annoyed “lady, move this car NOW” screams, they were the same screams she lets out when she gets shots. Turning purple, holding her breath, strangled, heartbreaking YELLS. Poor babe.

We obviously made it home in one piece, and the little one went straight to bed after dinner. She was much calmer today, woohoo.

A quick shot from our mini-shoot today. I am REALLY trying to capture her during one of her giant open-mouth grins, but no luck yet. She stops the minute I pick the camera up. Typical photographer’s kid!

PinkRomper

Happy 12 weeks old, Lila! I can’t believe it’s been this long already. We love you more and more every day, and can’t wait to see what the future holds.

