Lila, you are six months old today. I can hardly believe it.

People always said that time would fly by, and I have to admit, during those periods of not napping, colic, and refusing to take a bottle, I was skeptical. But as I sit here on the couch, and see you staring me down from your exersaucer, I see that they were right. Hold on, baby girl, I’ll come play with you in a minute.

200908_Lila_3678WebSharpwm

200908_Lila_3664WebSharpwm

(I have decided to leave this post draft open all day, so I can add to it when I think of something else I want to say. There are just too many things I know I will forget if I attempt this in one sitting. So if it gets ramble-y, you know why.)

200908_Lila_3669WebSharpwm

(Chillin’ in your stroller on our walk today.)

It’s astonishing to me how much you’ve changed, and how much you are still the exact same as you were on Day 1. You are still opinionated and strong, and you still get the hiccups all. the. time. But now you’re laughing, rolling over, sitting up, and being LOUD. Whether happy squeals while playing, or exhausted, angry cries, you certainly were blessed with a healthy set of lungs. I will happily take this loudness over the deafening silence we heard when you were first born.

200908_Lila_3685WebSharpwm

200908_Lila_3684WebSharpwm

(If you look *very* carefully, you can see two little teeth there on the bottom.)

200908_Lila_3688WebSharpwm

(Caught, mid-raspberry. You do this all. day. long.)

You can also be SO serious. This is mostly when we’re out in public, or at friends’ houses, or somewhere new. It takes a little bit for you to crack a smile, and you’re content to sit with your dad or I, engaged in your favorite activity: people-watching.

200908_Lila_3714WebSharpwm

200908_Lila_3723WebSharpwm

200908_Lila_3703WebSharpwm

(This is you towards the end of every day. Quiet, serious, and only wanting to sit with me. You love to cuddle, and it’s the cutest.)

You are certainly a demanding little girl. You know exactly what you want, and there is no telling you to “hold on a second”, or try to move whatever it is out of your sight. You are relentless when it comes to getting your way. We’ll have to have a talk about that in a year or so.

It amuses me to see what kind of mom I’m turning out to be. The things I always thought I’d never do, I’m doing. And the things I was definitely going to do, well…yeah. They aren’t all happening. I’m more laid back than I thought I would be. Except when it comes to sharing you. I’m still working on that one. I’m less judgmental than I used to be (yay, me!). I’m more patient. I play more, and dust less. I learn from you–I now see and hear things I have long let go by, because they aren’t new to me. Watching you take all of these things in, gives me a new appreciation for them.

I think the biggest thing I’ve noticed, is that I just had no idea how much I would love you. I mean, I knew I’d love you. I knew I would do anything for you. But I didn’t know that it would actually come across physically at times. I ache for you when you’re upset. And I feel weightless when I make you laugh, or you give me a giant grin just for looking in your direction.

200908_Lila_3715WebSharpwm

Lila, you’re my little buddy. We’re together all day, every day, and I honestly can’t imagine it being any other way. I thank God every single day that I am able to spend this time with you. I know there will be no other time in either of our lives like it. I wish you could remember these days. And because you can’t, I have taken close to 4,000 pictures since you were born. You will be able to see what you were like, what we were like, back when it was just the three of us. (NO, I’m NOT pregnant! I’m just saying.)

I took the pictures above throughout yesterday, so you can see what our days are like. Of course, not all days are this way–there are days of more screaming, and days of less. There are play dates, shopping, and road trips. Long naps, short naps, no naps. Swings, people-watching, toy-flinging. And I couldn’t be happier. WE couldn’t be happier.

We love you more than words could ever say, Lila. Happy 6 months.

200908_Lila_3727WebSharpwm

(You didn’t think you were going to get away with no food-face shots, did you? From dinner last night. Before you woke up TWICE, something you haven’t done since you were about 6 weeks old. Growth spurt? Teeth? Whatever it is, I say let’s make that a one-time thing.)

